The Journey Dawnes

Today is a rather exciting day for me personally*!

It is surreal to have woken up today with this thought- “In 30 days I leave for Europe!”

On September 5th I am off with my wonderful husband for two weeks of adventure!  Our trip begins with an extended layover in Reykjavik, Iceland. It’s only 33 hours, some of which will be spent sleeping, but it’s 33 hours in Iceland!

Honestly, I have wanted to travel since I was very, very young and have never thought I’d end up visiting Iceland.  Iceland!

Last Fall my friend Zina suggested I come visit her in the UK. I was immediately tempted, of course. The guest room in her flat is amazing.

Travel is one of my biggest passions.  I may not always be able but I am always willing! I’m pretty much a ‘have passport, will travel’ kinda girl.

I’ll never forget the day the lightbulb turned on and Dave converted to the “you only live once” philosophy.  It was a true epiphany in that he really ‘got it’ (without any prompting from yours truly) that life is short, there are no guarantees and you only live once.  Carpe Diem!

We bought our tickets a few months ago. At the time I was too numb to be excited; deliriously happy in the knowledge that I would be traveling in the foreseeable future. September was still nine whole months away and I’m not the patient sort. I filed our trip in the back of my mind (to preserve my sanity) and went about the regularly scheduled program.

Thoughts about packing, food, touring and hotels crept into my awareness and I tried to ignore them. These thoughts got clever and invaded my dreams.  In moments of weakness I began to research a little, just a little. After all, I reasoned, an informed traveler is a happier traveler. (Yes, sometimes justification is my friend. How clever of you to have noticed.)

Today it all changes. Today the countdown begins!

*The painful dichotomy of the haves and the have-nots is never far from my mind. Planning such a luxury trip when others are in dire need of  basic necessities seems wrong, at least on some level.  I wouldn’t feel right if I didn’t take this opportunity to add a link to the World Food Programme to this post.

This entry was posted in Europe 2011, Iceland. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Journey Dawnes

  1. Tobbi says:

    I hope you enjoy your well-earned trip. Keep us posted!

  2. Janice says:

    I know you’ll be good at posting the pictures from your trip, but make sure YOU are actually in a couple of them!! New foods, new face-to-face friends, new perspectives – all there for you in 27 days!!

Leave a Reply

